YouTube stops recommending videos when signed out of Google

Colleta Ochieng
Colleta Ochieng

YouTube is no longer showing recommended videos to users logged out of a Google account or using Incognito mode, making people concerned they are being bullied into always being signed into the service.

This change, which is now rolling out, shows a simple YouTube homepage without any videos or tips on what to watch.

Before, even in incognito mode or when not logged in, Google would still show you video suggestions.

Now, users see a message saying “Get Started” and “Start watching videos to help us build a feed of videos you’ll love” when they open YouTube in incognito mode, with videos no longer being recommended.

In multiple tests conducted by BleepingComputer on different computers, we observed that even when we search for something on YouTube, it doesn’t show any suggestions, and we keep seeing the message to watch more videos.

As noted by some on X, users who have cleaned their search and watch history or turned off their history settings also see no suggestions when they’re logged in.

Some people think YouTube is being pushy about this, trying to make users turn on their history settings.

Share This Article